Skip to content

Why I Do This

January 13, 2010

I’ve started to realize that some people–my boyfriend, my mother–don’t understand how all-consuming decorating and this house are in my brain. It’s hard to explain. To tell you that I think about it all the time is an understatement. Trying to document all my plans and ideas on this blog is turning out to be a monumental task. Right now I have eight posts drafted and at least ten more floating around in my head. It starts to seem daunting. So I thought I’d share a less-formal glimpse of some of the bonkers shit going on in my head.

Last night as I was trying to fall asleep, my half-conscious brain was floating out pictures of Hans Wegner Wishbone chairs. How do I even know what a $730 chair is called and who designed it? I have no idea. I also didn’t know I was obsessed with them until last night. But I am. I love them. They’d go great with the big, beaten-up farmhouse table I fantasize about having for the dining room.

Did I ever tell you that my idea for our new Christmas color scheme (green and silver) came to me in a dream? My brain is FULL, people.

I have 334 bookmarks to items I want for my home. I love every single one of these things. Do you think this is about consumerism? I don’t. I think it’s about the fact that my home is the most important place in the world to me, an expression of who I am, and a huge influence on my mood. I also just love great design.

When my mom was here for the holidays, she accused me of not having a plan for decorating the house. (Believe me, in our family, saying that someone doesn’t have a plan is an accusation.) If only she could see inside my head–I know EXACTLY how I want my home to look and feel. Herewith, just a few of my hundreds of inspiration photos.

via Emmas Designblogg

via Remodelista

via Remodelista

via Desire to Inspire

via Desire to Inspire

via Remodelista

via Desire to Inspire

via Desire to Inspire

via Desire to Inspire

via Remodelista

via Remodelista

via Decor8

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Patricia Jo Bungert permalink
    January 13, 2010 2:56 pm

    gawd. your mother. what is she? a major player in your life? or just a minor character actor?

  2. j rock permalink
    January 24, 2010 10:08 pm

    I can understand. I think about our place the same way. Betsy does also. We just don’t think about our place the same way the same way in places.

Leave a Reply

