Skip to content

Ottoman vs. Coffee Table

January 10, 2010

Lots of new options for ottomans or coffee tables for the living room have been catching my eye lately. I like our IKEA Karlstad footstool because it’s a soft spot to put your feet up and a tray can hold your drink or candles.

However, I’m pretty over the pattern, even though it’s a nice pop of color in the room. I really like the new Grönvik multicolor cover (left) and the Ullevi gray cover.

I especially like coffee tables that are the height of the couch cushions or lower, which in our case means a maximum of 18 inches high.

Here’s Brocade Home’s gorgeous Velvet Ottoman in Apple ($1,599). Completely impractical for a house with two cats and a dog–I’d never be able to vacuum all the fur out of the tufting! The texture and color are totally dreamy, though.

Holly Becker, proprietess of Decor8, has my dream coffee table. Unfortunately, it’s from a German store and is no longer available.

I also love IKEA’s PS Bruse coffee table, which is a perfect 14 inches tall, but at nearly 60 inches long, I think it’s too long for our sofa.

What do you think? Any suggestions for great low coffee tables or ottomans?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 10, 2010 9:30 pm

    Coffee table! I must say I absolutely hate our ottoman. It is nothing but a catch all. It’s nice to have something to put our feet on, but really, I would much rather have a two level coffee table that we can store some things on a shelf and have decorative stuff on top so I’m not so tempted to throw everything on top of it. That’s just me though 😉 I’m sure you are way more tidy than I am.

    • January 10, 2010 10:30 pm

      HA! We’re certainly not tidy, and that’s the very reason I can’t have a two level coffee table! The things on the bottom shelf would pile up forever. That’s actually another advantage to our current ottoman–it’s too small to hold more than a couple of magazines and a laptop, so we can’t pile much on top of it.

Leave a Reply

