Skip to content

House Updates!

January 4, 2010

I thought it wasn’t possible to love our house any more than I already did. I was wrong.

While my mom stayed with us for the holidays, I painted our entire common area. Chalkboard paint on the dining room wall next to the door to the carport, and Benjamin Moore Regal Matte 04 “Decorator’s White” in the kitchen, living room, and rest of dining room. If you have a family member who always serves you three home-cooked meals a day, I highly recommend having her around when you undertake home improvement projects. I don’t think I’ve eaten so well since I moved away from home.

The white makes the natural wood and brick look AMAZING. In case, like Nathan, you’ve already forgotten what the paint colors used to look like, check out these rooms in the House Tour section of the blog. In this picture you can also see the new fireplace tool set that Nathan’s Aunt Enie got us for Christmas.

The house looks modern, bright, and clean, and the wood positively glows, thanks to my mom’s application of Formby’s Lemon Oil to all of the trim, doors, and cabinets.

I love the way our dining room table stands out against the white wall.

Perhaps best of all, we finally got some storage for some of the crap that ends up on our landing strip. After priming, painting, curing, and conditioning the chalkboard wall, we hung two simple peg racks. I love the way they look against the gray chalkboard wall. At the far left is the custom handmade leather purse my mom had made for me in the Netherlands last month.

I also started stripping the brown paint from the tongue-and-groove paneling that borders the kitchen peninsula on the dining room and living room sides. We’re not sure what we’ll do with it when I’m done, but anything will be better than the monolith of poop brown!

So, do you like it? You can be honest. My mind is already made up: I LOVE IT!!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. keegan permalink
    January 4, 2010 7:15 pm

    OMGEEE! nicole, you were right, this post was totally worth the wait. the house looks AMAZING, i esp. love the new landing strip!

    what are your ideas for the paneling?!?!?!!? ❤ ❤ ❤

    • January 4, 2010 9:25 pm

      We haven’t decided what to do with the paneling yet. The options are: pickle it by rubbing on watered-down white paint, leave it stripped and oiled (seems like it wouldn’t go with the kitchen cabinet color), or restore it by staining it back to the original color I see under the brown paint (same stain as in the guest cabin). Thoughts?

  2. Paula permalink
    January 4, 2010 7:43 pm

    Love the chalkboard and pegboards, doll, but inquiring minds must know: are you going to keep lists etc. on it or is it just for effect?

    Worried about your custom leather in ATX,

    P

    • January 4, 2010 9:30 pm

      We will write on it when the mood strikes, because surprisingly, once the writing is erased the chalk dust that remains on the wall is minimal and doesn’t rub off on clothing! The whole wall has already been rubbed with chalk and erased as part of the “conditioning” I mentioned. I will be careful with my precious purses, though!

  3. January 4, 2010 9:19 pm

    Love it!!!

  4. Liza permalink
    January 6, 2010 5:33 pm

    Everything looks fantastic!

  5. June 9, 2010 12:26 pm

    Holy shit that chalkboard wall kicks major ass!!! I want to do that in my entranceway! Great job on all the painting. Can’t wait to come visit again and see how it’s all shaping up!

Leave a Reply

