Skip to content

Credenza Fantasies

November 9, 2009

I have two major furniture fantasies right now. These are pieces that I think about daily and will never, ever be able to afford.

I also have credenzas on the mind because two of the three major problem areas in our home could be solved with credenzas: the landing strip and the TV/media stand.

BDDW is “a small American furniture company dedicated to the creation of well crafted timeless designs.” They make a variety of gorgeous furniture and accessories, like an amazing 72″ round leather mirror, slab dining table, and walnut tripod floor lamp. I first saw the BDDW Lake Cabinet in Desire to Inspire’s post on photographer Trevor Tondro (above). I love the cabinet in the color combination shown, which I think is an oxidized maple front with a white lacquer exterior, and was delighted to find it comes in the larger credenza size as well.

Piet Hein Eek Scrapwood Sideboard at Piet Hein Eek, €11,202

My other fantasy is the Piet Hein Eek (pronounced “Pete Hine Ike”) Scrapwood Sideboard. Eek is a Dutch furniture designer who makes all of his pieces by hand. I can’t remember where I first saw Eek’s work, but I was reminded of my love for it when my mom sent a picture of his Scrapwood Cupboard in situ at her friend’s house in the Netherlands.

Eva has a great eye for art and design. Her home is full of interesting features and classic furniture. She told my mom that she bought the Eek Cupboard before Eek was famous. A few days later she e-mailed me with a good story about investing in designer furniture:

Now I am curious too, looked up the receipt.
It was in 1993, picked it up personaly in Geldrop in a small atelier.
Paid at that time around 1500 Euro’s, too bad there was an intermediant ( I do not think it is a correct word)  in between who also needed to earn something.
At that time I thought it was a huge amount, it was my very first purchase of a real piece of  furniture after all the hand downs.
Well anyway I still enjoy it.

Geldrop is the town in the Netherlands where Eek’s “small factory” is located.

Images courtesy BDDW, Desire to Inspire, Piet Hein Eek at Studio Forbes, Piet Hein Eek, and my mom.


3 Comments leave one →
  1. fredo permalink
    November 10, 2009 8:52 pm

    love it!

  2. Allison permalink
    November 10, 2009 9:05 pm

    Wow. My kitchen is in my living room.

Trackbacks

  1. Problem Areas: The Landing Strip « Wedgewood Park Modern

Leave a Reply

